Question about Maiden Grass descriptors

Austin, TX(Zone 8b)

I just bought 9 tubs of Maiden Grass; Miscanthus sinensis 'Gracillimus'.
On the front of the tag it says "growing 4-6 feet tall." I assume this is including the plumes.
On the BACK of the same tag it says "average size 10 feet tall"!!! I can't use a 10 foot tall plant where I planned these!!
Does anyone have experience with these? They are in 5 gallon tubs and are already about 3 feet tall and seem to grow very upright compared to my other miscanthus sinensis in my berm in the front (didn't save the tags to know what type exactly).

Please reply soon if you can help. I need to RETURN THESE to Lowe's if I don't hear that they won't get 10 feet tall!!!
Connie

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

Hi.

I'm sorry that I am just seeing this, but I have a lot of experience with your plant. I grew them for several years at my former home.

No, they do not grow ten feet tall, even with plumes!

They grow four to six feet tall without plumes.

Here are some pictures, with and without plumes, of mature miscanthus sinensis gracillimus plants. I had 8 of them.

They are wonderful! Please don't be afraid to plant them.

They grow about 30 inches wide so plant them accordingly. They are less wide than MANY grasses - and are possible the best.

Pic 1, October (full bloom, maximum height - 8 year old grasses)
Pic 2 , July (prebloom)
Pic 3, October, mid bloom
Pic 4, August pre-bloom

Thumbnail by DonnaMack Thumbnail by DonnaMack Thumbnail by DonnaMack Thumbnail by DonnaMack
Jackson, MO(Zone 6b)

Donna, I never tire of looking at your beautiful, nicely landscaped grasses.

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

You are the SWEETEST person. Thank you so much for your kind comments. It gives me great joy that someone else shares my fondness for them (OK, I'm crazy about them!).

I hope she got my message. Five gallon tubs. Can you imagine?