Watering hosta in pot

Brisbane, CA(Zone 10b)

Hi,
I am new to hosta. Recently bought several of them and are growing them in pots. Could someone give me an idea of how much moisture does hosta need? How can I tell they need to be watered? Does the soil need to be moist all the time? Thanks in advance for your advice.

Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)

I have a couple in large pots. Wilt is a good sign of needing water but you hope to not get to this stage. When just starting you may want to water every other day, at least monitor the moisture in the pot. As they get established you can probably let them dry out more.

Here is Golden Tiara in one pot and June in another (this is in more shade while G.T. is in a lot more sun). Because we are getting a lot of rain so far this summer I rarely have to water either pot.

Thumbnail by hcmcdole Thumbnail by hcmcdole
Manhattan Beach, CA(Zone 10b)

Hi Brisbane, I also am in Zone 10b. I live in SoCal but lived and worked in Daly City and Silicon Valley.

I also just started growing Hosta. I'm trying to learn as much as I can about them however I'm not finding many people in our zone with experience owning them.

A few weeks ago I received a few in a swap. I planted them in pots that I have on my patio. I've read that they need partial shade and should have moist soil.

Personally, moist soil is different than wet soil. I watered the plants when I potted them. I used Miracle Grow potting soil. So far only one of the pots has soil that has just started drying. I plan to water it today and wait until the top soil is dry on the others before I water them.

As a newbie one of my biggest mistakes is overwatering so I've decided to water on the conservative side. This may be a mistake.

I looked at my hostas this morning and all of them have new growth. That tells me that so far my watering plan is OK.