Can someone suggest a good feeder for large bird feed?

Hammond, LA

I use the Wild Bird Fruit and Seed feed and have a problem with it getting stuck in my feeder. Any suggestions? Im a pretty novice bird watcher so yall be gentle ;)

(Zone 5a)

Welcome to the world of bird watching. It has brought us so much joy and expense, when it all began with a milk jug feeder made as a science project. :)

Hmmm... What kind of birds are eating from this? And what type of feeder is it? Is the feed caking or just getting trapped? Sorry for the questions, I am trying to picture your quandary.

Can you put up a platform or hopper style feeder? This would allow a great variety of birds to feed as well as not getting stuck. Our favourite feeders are the type that do not hang. We have severe winds out on our wannabe prairie and have to take them in. Otherwise we are just ground feeding a lot of critters. :)

Hammond, LA

I recently moved into an apartment and am on the third floor, so I have to have hanging feeders. I used to have hanging feeders, platform feeders, and bird baths... I miss them!

I mostly see chickadees which I have taken care of with sunflower chips in a small bird feeder. I also get cardinals who do not seem to like the small feeder.

I will try to take a picture tomorrow of what I have set up and post it. It may help to see a layout of the area.

Thanks for your response :)

Algonquin, IL(Zone 5a)

Hi JenniferLynne,

If you're mostly getting Chickadees and Cardinals, you can simplify your life by just buying Black Oil Sunflower seeds. This is probably the most common bird seed and it's also the one that the majority of birds prefer which might even attract other birds. You can also buy one or two feeders of different types that both the Chickadees and Cardinals will be happy with.