what do you grow indoors?

Somewhere in, MD(Zone 7b)

Hi there! I'm sorta wondering... what do you all like to grow as indoor, or "house", plants?

It's something we've not sold any of at work as long as I've been there, but it's time to make some changes and incorporate them into our stock, so I'd like some ideas please.

I've already got African Violets at the top of my list... but, that is currently ALL that is on my list. ;) Can y'all help me make my list grow, please? Oh, and along with your favourite plants, can ya talk about how you care for them too, please? Like, what sorts of pots and/or soil they prefer... if there is a preference?

Thanks all!!

=)

Dover, PA(Zone 6b)

Speedie, When I worked as a waterier at Lowes I often wondered why they bothered to sell AV's. They would get the plants in and it was hard to water them without soaking the leaves in the little plastic sleeves. (I took a small watering can from the shelves and used that but I saw other employees just hose them down) Then they would sit them on a shelf under hanging baskets and the water from those would drip down all over the AV's and within a few days the AV's looked terrible were rotting and we were tossing them out only to get in a new batch and then start the whole process all over again. That said I just love AV's and I am always looking for some new ones. In fact I just picked up two new AV's at the flower show. 2 for $5 show special was very nice but seems that the nurseries that are carrying the AV's never have names for them. I guess cheap from the distributor means no Id tag.