Black Bat Flower Tacca Chantrieri

Tampa, FL(Zone 9b)

I recently purchased a black bat flower and have noticed that it seems to be declining. Nothing I have done seems to be helping to improve the quality of the plant. I have lots a few leaves and the plant itself just droops.

Since this is my first attempt at growing this, I don't know if what I am seeing is normal for the plant, if it goes into a dormant period or if it is a larger problem. Living in zone 9A, we have a pretty tropical climate and it's been kept indoors out of direct sunlight. It's kept in front of a east facing window that gets filtered sen from my birds of paradise.

Unfortunately, I do not have any pics right now...but wanted to know if anyone here has much experience in growing bat flowers and was looking for any insight or advice.

Thanks,
Shauna

Blackshear, GA

Hi Shauna
Since no one else has responded here is my experience with the black bat flower. I have bought this plant at least 2 if not 3 times, and unfortunately it has died every time. I have hundreds of plants and most are tropical, so I am rather experienced with plants and some with special requirements. I really babied the last one I had, but no matter what I did, it gradually declined and died. I personally don;t know what the secret to these are. I think I read that they should be treated like an orchid and are really sensitive to the type of water they receive. (which I used mostly rain water on my last one so....) Sorry to be the barer of bad news and I hope yours is doing better. This is just one plant I have 'marked' off my want list. Good Luck

Starkville, MS(Zone 8a)