How do I pot this up?

Boonies, SD(Zone 4b)

I am a novice orchid grower. I have what looks like a small orchid growing on the top of one of my bloom stalks. How do I get it into a pot? Cut it first then pot it? Bend the stalk so it's in the pot but still attached? I have no idea how to go about this. Can someone offer some advice? Is this actually another orchid?

Thumbnail by Ruth
Sarasota, FL(Zone 9b)

Yup, it's a nice healthy baby orchid. (they're known as keikis, the Hawaiian word for baby) You should wait until it has a few roots showing, maybe an inch or two long. Then cut the stalk below the new plant, and pot it up. Use quite a small pot and some fine orchid bark mix.

Looks like you're taking good care of the mama plant, so just keep doing what you've been doing. That baby might take a couple of years before it will bloom, mind you.

Elaine

Boonies, SD(Zone 4b)

How cool!! I keep my two orchids in a terrarium as we have a pellet stove and it gets really dry inside during the winter. I'm going to have to rearrange them so it doesn't try to grow through the glass.
Thanks!!

Jacksonville, FL(Zone 9a)

How wonderful!!! I've never seen this happen to any of mine! But now that I have seen yours,…If I'm ever so lucky…I'll know what to do!!!! How cool is that!!!!

Boonies, SD(Zone 4b)

I hope it survives!! Now I'm afraid that I will do something that will kill it. ;)

Starkville, MS(Zone 8a)