Winter Hoop House

Iowa City, IA(Zone 5a)

This is my winter play house.

Thumbnail by iowhen Thumbnail by iowhen Thumbnail by iowhen Thumbnail by iowhen
suburban K.C., MO(Zone 6a)

Nice. Is it airtight? Do you plan on heating it? Sorry if they're dumb questions, I have no experience with a hoop house. It's pretty close to the house, run a dryer hose out there and blow room temperature air in it, or would that work?
Will

Iowa City, IA(Zone 5a)

Questions are great! I'll answer them all!

It's not quite airtight. My expectation is to extend the growing season - maybe 1 more crop of greens, 1 more flush of strawberries. I will be able to start seeds there in the spring.

I had not thought of running dryer or furnace vent out there. My only heat sink so far is black-plastic wrapped straw bales. I have some mylar-coated styrofoam panels to reflect some additional rays inside.

I think it's a great idea, hen. Yeah, that would be nice to start veggies and stuff early, a month or so early? I heard that mulch and probably hay, give off a small amount of heat because of the decomposition that's taking place. I see stray cats sometimes laying or sitting in my mulch when it's cold and I wonder if it's a little warmer there, maybe you could do one or two bales of hay.

Now, you can pick up billyporter (Sally) from IA. and come to our Roundup in the Spring!
I think she might be kinda near Iowa City.
Will

Iowa City, IA(Zone 5a)

Yes, I may transfer some of the compost into the HH for the heat. On sunny days it's like a solarium, warm enough to sit inside and make a little Vitamin D.

What's a Spring Roundup?