Please help me to decide to have chickens in my garden

Büllingen, Belgium(Zone 6b)

I'm really new to this. I have a garden, but slugs are a big problem here. I read that chickens eat slugs, but I also read that chickens eat plants. Well, I want the chickens to eat the slugs, but not my plants. Any suggestions?

Richmond, TX

I think everyone should have chickens! Whether they eat your plants or not rather depends upon what you have growing. You will need a way to keep them out of the garden when seedlings are sprouting, for example. They will also require predator-proof housing at night. However, if they free range most of the time, your feed bills will be minimal, and' hey, "free" fresh eggs!

Thank you for your reply.
Keeping them away from the garden when seedlings are sprouting or young plants are there, is no option. The slugs eat those seedlings/young plants and if there are no chickens in the garden to eat the slugs, chickens won't be very helpful in that case.

Richmond, TX

I guess you would just need to watch to see whether they preferred escargot or salad. They would bear watching anyway as chickens love to scratch and dust-bathe in soft earth. Around here the slugs seem to be out at night when the chickens are in. Maybe offering the slugs beer to drown their sorrows (and more) in might be a better option, - but I still think you need some chickens!

Well, I need a brewery to have enough beer to drown all the slugs in my garden :))

(Zone 6b)

I love my chickens, but they have absolutely destroyed every blade of grass in my backyard. I was looking the other day at some videos I took of my partridge silkies when they were babies and I had the most beautiful green grass. All I have now is rocks and sticks and bare ground. Sorry, but that is the truth of it.

Sounds like you need to find a good natural way to remove slugs. lol

Chickens are really awesome creatures though. So fun and relaxing. I'm just warning you though what they can do to plants.