Sexing silkies

Saluda, SC(Zone 8a)

I have 3 beautiful black silkies that hatched under a broody hen as experiment. They are now 4 months old and I am trying to determine sex, as I have to get rid of any roosters. Any suggestions? I am going to have the same problem with 14 more chicks that are now 2 weeks old.

An observation: I spent many dollars on incubators and heated facilities in the past. One little silkie hen has now hatched a total of 17 eggs and cared for them all very well, so far.

Richmond, TX

I am not very experienced with Silkies but the roosters often have a more swept back hair-do while the hens' dos are more over the eyes. Also in general roosters will be longer legged than hens. Of course sooner or later someone will lay an egg or crow... Good luck!

(Zone 6b)

Very difficult. The males will probably start growing their comb sooner and it will be larger. Yes, the males are usually bigger, but that also is quite an individual thing. Some silkie lines are very small birds and some are quite large for a bantam.

I had 24 baby silkie chicks once, my very first ones, and the little ones that rushed immediately out to the food and began to scratch real "roostery", turned out to be the males. They were the always the FIRST ONES to the food when it was put out. I had two blue and two blacks that did that. Turned out they really were the roosters. So you might look for that. Other people on here told me that, and I saw it firsthand. Roosters have an attitude from birth I guess.

Ultimately though, I had to wait for the crowing. I had three whites that I just knew were roosters, they were so aggressive toward the others, mean and fast. They were the bosses and the others cowered to them. Turned out two of those were hens. So, your guess is as good as mine.

As Porkpal said, lay an egg or crow. Mine usually usually do that around five to six months of age.