tips for growing Sage in Central TX?

Dewey, AZ(Zone 7a)

I have no problems at all growing salvia, but culinary sage has not fared well under my watch. Suggestions?

The one I really want to grow is Berggarten, but if there is another that works better for the hot, humid summers here, I'm all ears.

Please advise?
Thank you in advance!

Read more: http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1337070/#ixzz2h7r7Qwyc

Magnolia, TX(Zone 9a)

Try a spot where only one variety has at least 3 to 5 plants, and air- maybe getting late afternoon shade. Golden sage did alright, tho I havent attempted Bergartten. That is what gardening is- growing what you know isnt goin to work, dedicatedly, chuckle.

Dewey, AZ(Zone 7a)

So much trial and error. With an emphasis on error. I got my TX Master Gardener certification, and on the first day of class, the instructor told us that the mark of a true master gardener is how many thousands of plants she has killed. :~) I must be a Genius level gardener.

Belton, TX

Hi again, Dollie...I got tired of treating the culinary sage as an annual or short-term, looks really ragged perennial...I now have 2 Greek Salvias, one Turkish one, and one from North Africa that are highly scented salvias, drought-tolerant, and great for cooking. I really enjoy the sagey scent and the fact that the flavors hold in cooking...and...after 4 years, they seem to be bothered by nothing..they even take full Texas sun!...

Your Extension Agent is paraphrasing Sally Wasowski...she said many times that the way she learned what was hardy and viable was if it 'made' it in Texas...or not!...and laughed about watching several thousand plants expire...it took me a while to figure out that the tricky part was not to keep doing the same thing...planting same plant...over and over again...something about definition of insanity...so look for a different solution to the problem...LOL

Dewey, AZ(Zone 7a)