can I still use sweet basil if gone to flower?

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

This is my first time growing. I notice some wispy white flowers so I'm wondering if it is still usable or will be bitter. I was stunned this summer when grocery shopping and seeing that a few basil leaves cost a king's ransom. Immediately made a nursery run and got a plant (not that it was cheap but at least more cost effective). Is this a perennial? Has been an easy plant to grow in pot. not too thirsty in my area.

thanks for your help.

Lewisville, MN(Zone 4a)

Pinch the flower off.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Remove the flowers and the plant will branch and produce more leaves. You can use the leaves after the plant has started to flower, some people say the taste changes when basil flowers but my taste buds aren't sensitive enough to tell. Basil is a frost-sensitive annual up here, not sure how perennial it is in frost-free areas.

thanks both. will do as you recommend.

Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I also heard the same thing and diligently snip off those flowers when I can! I've had basil last through the winter if it's very mild but usually they die. I live near Katy. And if you want free basil forever, just let them go to flower before frost, wait until they brown and dry out and gather the seeds each year. I had a lemon basil once that was practically invasive! It came up in cracks, on my pebble walking path, everywhere. I currently have "regular" basil and Thai. I don't use them much but love having them and other herbs available when I want them. It's so much fun to go "shopping" in the backyard!
Good luck! Janet

Houston Heights, TX(Zone 9a)

Vossner, it is so easy to root in water in a window that you can multiply your plants that way and also save it over the winter if it gets cold. Roots in about 3-4 days.

Hiya M!! So it would die in winter. So once rooted do u think I can overwinter in garage I
Or does it need to stay subside