Garden Devastation. Advice needed on winter squash/Pumpkins

Chaska, MN(Zone 4a)

Hi All. I need some advice.
I left for vacation two weeks ago. Just before leaving I was fighting a powdery mildew infection in my squash. This is my first year for winter squash. I have planted pumpkin before though. This year I planted 6 Butternut squash (JWS 6823 from Johnnys), plus 6 Delicata Squash (JS OG from Johnny's), plus 6 Rockstar Pumpkin and 6 Sweet Granite Cantalope. I have never had powdery mildew before... but I'm thinking it was due to overplanting. I put all of these in a bed that is 4 ft wide 28 ft long. So each had about 2ft between them. Of course I knew they would Sprawl out of the bed... but I didn't realize the mildew danger. Anyway, I started fighting the mildew with milk spray, but then had to leave on vacation... and my in-laws took charge of the garden. I think they sprayed some... but just harvesting was a lot of work... so that's that. So here are my questions
All of the squash plants look nearly dead. But I can still prick into the butternut and delicata with my fingernail.... So Should I let them stay on the vine... until they get harder?? or can I harvest them now?
I know they need to be out in the sunshine for a time after harvest too? How long is that? Would putting them on my deck work??
Same with pumpkins. They are turning orange.. but are not there yet.... should I leave them on or take them off? Will they still get orange OFF the vine? Also, note the photo with these white bugs on one of the pumpkins... What are they.. Will they do damage? How shall I kill them?

Will this Mildew Wreck next years garden? Does it infect the soil?? Or will the freezing winter temps Clean it out?

PS.. It has been a really HOT streak here in MN for the last week. So no where near freezing temps.. I had planned to harvest after a "killing frost" but that is a long way off.