Maggots in my vermicompost!

Saskatoon, SK(Zone 2b)

Hello all,
I am new to vermicomposting and composting in general. I originally started off with just a compost and had hay, bedding, and rabbit droppings in it with some soil and kitchen scraps that I was attempting to compost. I was reading about adding worms to the bin and so I bought some from this guy on Kijiji in my area that delivered the worms in a bunch of leaves and outdoor material and it had bugs all over in it. I separated the worms from that material and put the worms into my already starting compost bin. It is nice out so I decided I would keep the bin outside until it started getting to cold for the worms but I had to take the bin in for the night and the next day I put it back outside. When I opened the bin outside I noticed that it was getting hot so I left it out for the cold night to cool down. The next night was cold again so I brought the bin in and that when my problems started. I had maggots crawling to the top around the rim and on the top of the lid. I crushed them put them into a baggy and tossed them out. HOWEVER, today I go to look at the bin and there are tons of maggots all laying around the bin on the towel I put under the bin and have cleaned them up with waxing strips which works great since there was so many of them!

How do I get rid of these maggots though, do I not put the bin outside anymore and how do I prevent the ones in my bin already from hatching into flies...
I thought composting and vermicomposting was going to be fun...I am not having fun! lol

Thumbnail by raughr Thumbnail by raughr Thumbnail by raughr
Saskatoon, SK(Zone 2b)

After no luck on this forum I went in search on other forums and links and suggestions and the result was that I need to buy beneficial nematodes to apply to my bin. Does anyone have experience using beneficial nematodes in their vermicomposter bin? Suggestions or hints? Thanks