Caudiciform Begonia and Pelargonium questions

Lake Stevens, WA(Zone 8a)

I am new to this fascinating group of plants. On impulse, I bought a Begonia dregei. (picture #2) It seems to have synonyms B suffruticosa and B richardsiana. It forms an underground caudex, and is from eastern South Africa, which I think is the summer rainfall area. It keeps dropping it's leaves. I thought it was too dry, in too small a pot so I potted it up from a 2" pot with about a tablespoon of soil to this clay pot, and put systemic insect killer on it although I saw no pests. I have kept it pretty dry, watering once a week, but maybe too dry? Or maybe it wants to go dormant?
I also got a Pelargonium grown by Fleetfoot and Foulweather. (picture #1) It has a penciled label that I think says Pelargonium dasycoulon, and describes it as "seed grown, caudexed". This one I can't find anywhere. It seems to match a description of P. dasyphyllum, which is deciduous in summer, from South Africa (thus probably from the winter-rainfall area), or possibly it is P. dasycaule, which I found mentioned in an old book. I did not pot it up and it seems quite happy in it's 2" pot, and I am watering it once a week. It has new growth.
Now what do I do? Anybody know?

Thumbnail by Pistil Thumbnail by Pistil
Sun Lakes, AZ(Zone 9b)

The Begonia dregei looks like it needs soil that has much better drainage than the one you have it in. It should have about 1/2 soil without peat in it (I use cactus soil) mixed with 1/2 pumice (or perlite if you can't get pumice). You are overwatering it and it looks like some stems are rotting. The caudex on these plants hold water and you should only water if the soil is dry. The Pelargonium would grow more if you move it into a somewhat larger pot. Move up a size or so. BUT it needs the type of soil I mentioned above and don't overwater it either. Too dry is better than too wet!

Decatur, GA

I agree with Nancy. Always err on the side of dry.