Tomato looking sick - should I ditch it? (Hillbilly)

Santa Barbara, CA

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting so hopefully I'm doing it right....You guys all seem so helpful so I was wondering if you can tell me about this bad boy tomato of mine. It's a Hillbilly which is failing to thrive - purplish veins on the underside and leaves folding a little, looking generally sick, and I'm wondering if I should ditch it to prevent all my others from becoming infected

It was planted in new potting soil and I added a slow release fertilizer, around May 20th. I have a second Hillbilly, purchased from the same place, same time, which has been subjected to the exact same conditions and is now up to my waist - (the pic of the healthy looking plant). I've had so many problems with blight and wilt in recent years I'm growing everything in containers this year and trying to stay on top of everything.

The only searches I have been able to find about this kind of appearance say (1) that it's too cold, which obviously does not apply here as it's one of about 20 other tomatoes which are not suffering, or (2) some kind of fertilizing deficiency, which gives me the problem of wondering whether to add more and risk over-fertilizing it. Any advice you can give would be great,
thanks
Ali

PS I have no especial loyalty to the Hillbilly, just trying a few new varieties this year, so if it's not particularly highly regarded by you folks it can go for that reason too....:)

Thumbnail by Amaliepiers Thumbnail by Amaliepiers Thumbnail by Amaliepiers Thumbnail by Amaliepiers
SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

I'm no expert, but, I'd say it needs some phosphorous, with those purple veins...

Give it a tiny shot of Triple Super phosphate or comparable, and see what happens...

And, someone will be along directly to correct me, if I'm wrong here, LOL!

But, you have nothing to lose at this point...

Santa Barbara, CA