Zone 9 poppies

Thibodaux, LA(Zone 9a)

I love poppies. What kind of poppies will grow in the deep south near New Orleans?

Corte Madera, CA

Hello! I'm new to poppies. I sent your query on Twitter, and hopefully someone will chime in. In the meantime, here's a link to a good read in case you have not stumbled upon it.

http://www.seasonalwisdom.com/2011/08/growing-poppies-in-the-garden/

Happy Gardening!

Thibodaux, LA(Zone 9a)

Thanks Moonglow
No one offered any information.
I tried sowing California poppies. None popped up :(
I purchased a few boxed plants of oriental poppies from Walmart. They grew, then fizzles out before blooming. :(

(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

I can't imagine what poppy would grow in your weather. If California poppies won't make the grade.
Found on the internet but I don't believe it:
The tall oriental poppy (Papever orientale) and the shorter Iceland poppy (P. nudicaule) are both perennial poppy plants for full sun and hot weather. The oriental poppy stands to 4 feet tall with large single or double flowers to 6 inches across. The Iceland poppy matures at 2 feet with slightly smaller, but fragrant blossoms. These perennial sun-lovers are available in nearly every color of the rainbow.

Best you can do is plant in a very shady place but not a wet one. They don't like wet feet.

Pretoria, South Africa

Hi VanGarden,

Here in South Africa we grow Iceland poppies in winter (usually as an annual). I also grow other poppies by keeping the seed in the refrigerator, and sowing it towards the end of autumn. That way the plants get time to establish and flower before the heat sets in in late Spring. I haven't been able to get hold of P. orientale, so I assume it just "can't take the heat". I am trying to grow them from seed. Holding thumbs.

Hazel Crest, IL(Zone 5a)