Keeping Topsoil from washing into pond

Georgetown, SC(Zone 8a)

We've just moved to a new home which has an in-ground pond. In the past, I've had container water gardens or above ground arrangements so though I have little experience with in-ground, I think I've spotted a problem.

The pond has been neglected and I spent today draining and clearing debris. There were 3" of dirt in the bottom. The pond is set low so that the ground slopes toward it. Obviously, the top soil's been washing into it.

Anyone have an ingenious solution to prevent or at least slow the flow of dirt into the pond without digging the whole thing out and raising it up? ( Hoping not to have to do that because I'm ball-parking it at about a 90 gal pond. The previous owner set stones around the edges, but that has had little effect.

Thanks!
Deb

Athens, PA

Is your pond a flexible liner pond, or a hard preformed plastic liner?

Georgetown, SC(Zone 8a)

It's a preformed plastic.

Georgetown, SC(Zone 8a)

Here's a photo I took when I was starting to drain it.

Thumbnail by DebinSC
Athens, PA

Deb

Short of lifting it out and jacking it up some, I don't know what else to do. Perhaps somebody else may have an idea.

Ponds should always be put at the high point of a yard, so water can run out it and not into it.

noonamah, Australia

Bit difficult to see detailed topography in that photo. Although water runs into the the pond, can it also run away from it along one of the sides? Meaning, it's not actually in a complete hollow in your yard? Do you have an overflow/drain in the pond?

You should be able to get some garden edging. There's some that's plastic and comes in rolls. Not very high, and you can run it around the pond. Put some top soil around it and plant low shrubby plants. The plants will cover the edging and the edges of the pond giving it a more natural look. Direct rainfall into the pond should overflow out between the edge of the pool and the inside of the garden edging.