pH off the Charts

Savannah, GA

My soil is sandy and I've known for a while that the pH was probably out of whack. But I'm still a newbie and so haven't gotten around to doing anything about it.

This spring I did amend my soil with an inch or two of my compost and mushroom compost, and have mulched.

I tested the pH using a Ferry Morse tester (which I know are not very accurate), and the needle was off the chart (see photo). I chose a spot under my poor Confederate Rose, which always has yellow and spotty leaves. Then I tested again in my vegetable bed, and the reading was more or less in the "good" zone. I brought in all the soil for the bed, so that makes sense.

So, assuming the reading for the spot under the Confederate Rose is more or less accurate, do I do anything now, in the spring when I've already planted everything? Or should I do nothing, have the soil properly tested in the winter by Univ of GA, then treat it accordingly in the spring before I plant?

Thanks for your help.

Thumbnail by dedukes
Enterprise, AL(Zone 8b)

That may be a right reading but it doesn't sound right. Most soils in the Southeast are acid, and especially if they are sandy. Was that area next to a block wall or anything like that, anything you can see that might cause such a high ph reading. I would take several more trial testings all around the yard and garden. Your right, those meters are not very accurate, I have one very similar, all my readings have always been around seven or below. But at least your meter is showing a lot of variation from one spot to another, a sign I think, that the meter is actually reading something. I often wonder if mine is actually working at all.
With a ph reading that high I would think you would be very limited in the things that would grow at all, much less perform very well. If that reading is correct I would contact the county agent and see what they recommend doing and start right away!

Everett, WA(Zone 8a)