First clematis season

Lake Mohawk, NJ(Zone 6a)

I am new to clematis gardening and just bought the following plants. Hope i didnt order the wrong ones. I'd appreciate any tips. Im afraid of killing the clematis when i plant and prune them. THANKS

Two Betty risdon for each side of a walkway arch.-partly shady

For a brick wall next to wiateria and trumpet vine- mostly sunny till late day:
Ruutel, Grefve Erik Ruuth, Franziska Maria

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Welcome to the wonderful world of clematis!

You can't really buy the wrong ones! I've loved Betty Risdon but she's one I never bought...yet.

A few of us were just chatting about Ruutel. Seems a few of us felt it could take shade but it hasn't performed well in shade so I've give it sun or at least 4 hours of sun.

I planted some salvia too close to my Franziska Maria and it took all the nourishment meant for the clematis so I lost the clematis.

Are you sure the other plants are far enough away that they won't gobble up the clematises?

Lake Mohawk, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hi Pirl. Thanks for the input :). The wisteria is very controlled so it wont be a problem.

I would've said the same about the trumpet vine but it got wacked down in a hurricane this winter. I thought it was dead but after reading up on it it probably isnt. I have to replace the lattice support and then figure out how much of it to prune & see if it makes it. I'll definitley keep a close watch that it doesnt invade the clematis! :) maybe i'll put fewer in that section of the garden and put the leftovers somewhere else.

Still working on the whole garden layout but i think its coming together.

Lake Mohawk, NJ(Zone 6a)

Turns out my husband doesnt like my idea of where to plant my new clematis. If we cant come to an understanding (my way is best!) is it possible to use them for ground cover instead of climbers?
Thanks!!