Cleveland Pear Eaten by Inch Worms

Raleigh, NC

Just noticed that our 25' foot Cleveland Pear that had been covered with blossoms a week ago is now covered with inch worms. The blossoms are gone, and the leaves are on their way to being decimated. I read on this site that Bacillus Thurigensis (sp) or Bt is the recommended remedy but I don't know how to apply it to a tree. I've only seen directions for plants. Has anybody used this or has anybody solved this problem another way?

Richland, WA(Zone 7b)

I think fruit trees have to be sprayed before the blossoms open up to prevent worms. It is likely too late now- but I am no expert. Hopefully someone can give you some good news!

Raleigh, NC

Thank you. If this is true, what then is the prognosis? A bad season or fatal? I'll try to research but what I've read on the internet so far hasn't helped.
------------
Editing my own post: Half an hour later and I've learned a few things:
-using BT after the larvae stage is pretty much useless
-perhaps Neem Oil might be an alternative for now
--one blog post was in defense of the little buggers, saying they are fairly harmless. Tell my poor Cleaveland Pear this. However it claims the tree will return next season as long as it is not an older tree or in a weakened condition.
Anything anybody can add to this-- elucidate, elaborate or illustrate with experience would be welcome.

This message was edited Apr 21, 2013 9:06 AM

Contra Costa County, CA(Zone 9b)

Spray ASAP.

A Cleveland Pear (Pyrus calleryana 'Cleveland'), I am assuming, is grown as an ornamental, not for fruit.