Straw bales not heating!

(Zone 7b)

Hello. This is my first year with a straw bale garden. I have been using ammonium sulfate and watering but my bales are still cool on day nine. The weather has been cooler than normal and I was wondering if that could be the cause. Should I just keep watering or do I need to keep adding more N too? Anyone else had bales that don't heat up?

Monte Vista, CO(Zone 4a)

I could be wrong, but shouldn't you use ammonium nitrate? I wonder if chicken manure would work just as well...hmmm. Definitely keep watering. A natural breakdown takes place and the additives just quicken the process.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

I never use anything and mine heat up just fine. Never have used any chemicals on my bales. I live in Oregon and the temps here don't start heating up till about May but my bales heat up and then cool down so I can plant.

Thumbnail by Gourdbeader
Wake Forest, NC

Ammonium Sulphate will work just fine. So will Blood Meal.

Ammonium Nitrate is hard to find now since it's regulated and stores just don't want the hassle.

BUT, as Gourdbeader said, you don't need ANY nitrogen, just plain old water and time.

Nature will prepare the bales just fine.

That's why it's best to get your bales out EARLY (30, 60 days PLUS).

The bales become much more manageable as far as making the cracks/holes so you can transplant, and you don't have to contend with Preparation Recipes, hunting for high-nitrogen products, etc.

South Eastern, NC(Zone 8a)