Which varieties of garlic do you recommend for TN (zone 7a)?

Clarksville, TN(Zone 7a)

I'm not a new vegetable gardener, but I'm fairly new to TN and haven't planted any garlic here yet. What are the best varieties for my location? I'd like to plant a good hardneck variety and maybe a softneck as well.

(thumbnail image is in the public domain)

Thumbnail by Cville_Gardener
Charlotte, NC(Zone 7b)

I purchased garlic from the supermarket and planted it. Each year, I save the best/largest ones and replant them.

Madison, AL(Zone 7b)

Broadleaf Czech and Inchellium Red have both done very well for me. Both are softnecks. Ajo Rojo (hardneck) was a poor performer over all here. Early Red Italian and Lorz Italian were okay performers.

Garlic planting season is in the fall here. I plant in late October and harvest around early June.

Magnolia, TX(Zone 9a)

Dixondalefarms.com has garlics for yours and mine zones. Garlic gets shipped thru from so many places...but does like fall plantings, even in middle Tn. Curious where you call middle- Centerville? East side of the middle is a bit cooler most times

Irving, TX(Zone 8a)

I do just like HoneyBeeNC: I buy my garlic at COTSCO in August.
It comes California at that time of the year, and not from China.
I spent $4 for a huge bag of garlic.
Last year I decided to order garlic from one of the website and I spent $30 on a "few cloves" of garlic ... and just a few of them made a bulb ... That was bad luck.

I normally plant my garlic between September 15th to October 15th and harvest it in May.

Clarksville, TN(Zone 7a)

Thanks for all the suggestions. I am in northwest middle TN near the border with KY.

After reading on the subject, I'm going with a softneck type. Any recommendations among these?

http://www.southernexposure.com/garlic-softneck-braidable-c-25_96.html

Clarksville, TN(Zone 7a)

Well, I've ordered the Inchellium Red for fall planting. Thanks for the input, NicoleC. :)

Madison, AL(Zone 7b)