Vinegar, Who Would Have Thunk it?

Canton--Football HOF, OH(Zone 6a)

The vinegar thread, of this category, which was started in 2006, has inspired me to share yet another "tidbit" of advice in the cleaning of our worldly possessions. BTW, that's an awesome thread! If you haven't read it, check it out…. Your pocketbook will thank you!!!

But, before I go on, I must apologize, in advance, to all of you "bullet-point" readers, out there! The word, tidbit, is in quotations above, because I am a 23 1/2 year veteran of the Residential Building Design Industry, drawing home plans, so my attention to detail can be a blessing…and a curse! Therefore, unfortunately, it's nearly impossible for me to keep instructions on the short side of things, but I’ll give it a good try!

I have been a big proponent of using distilled white vinegar for various cleaning jobs since the late 80's, when my Blessing-of-a-Mother-In-Law, God rest her sweet soul, shared with my husband and I her secret to keeping her windows so sparkling clean and streak-free. It's organic, and most of all, it works!

Well, in the Summer of 2011, I discovered a new, but masterful (if I don't say so myself) use for vinegar in my outdoor landscape! Keep in mind that by no means have I taken a remotely scientific approach to what you are about to read because, well, that's just too much work for me, but the measurements, referenced here, are noted for just that....reference only. So what is my, best-thing-since-sliced-bread-and-insect-screens secret?? Waaait forrr iiit....