When do peonies start to show growth in zone 6?

Leacock-Leola-Barevi, PA(Zone 6b)

I am new at peonies. I bought and planted some peonies this past fall. Does anyone have any experience as to when peonies begin to show growth in the spring for zone 6 in PA? I am anxious as well as excited and hope my peonies survive the winter.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Zone 5 here so you would be earlier than me about 2 weeks. I usually see growth on my tree peonies end of March and from the herbaceous peonies by the first week of April, but my plants are established and used to the area. I would give your new plants until the end of April to be safe.

Thank you for your response. I guess I have quite a bit of time before they come along yet.

(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

My timing is about the same as Cybrczch. My trees bloom about June 25

Stamford, CT(Zone 6b)

You are probably similar to me. You can often see buds in the axils of tree peonies in early March, depending on the winter we've had. The photo is the tree peony on March 20, 2012, and it had small growth buds for at least a month. It is a whole lot different for herbaceous peonies They all sprout at different times, and the double peonies are the last to sprout. They look like little red points and then little red trees. Some of the Japanese peonies can be a foot tall before the others have sprouted, and it may have to do with the amount of sun and warmth in that spot more than the variety of plant.

Those little red points are such harbingers of spring! I had a bad month where I was ill last March and took very few photos so the others are from earlier years.