Shade Container Gardening Ideas Needed no Coleus

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I may "add" some Coleus, but I want flowers as well - scented would be awesome too..... I have this long front porch that has tall shrubs in front of it for privacy. It get's off and on shade, as the sun moves across the sky. Pansies only grow well there in the Spring and in the Fall, because we get very hot dry summers and they shrivel and die. Petunias don't do well because they just get leggy from lack of enough sun. I'm not very good at all with Begonias. I know I'm running myself out of options fast! Any suggestions? These are containers that I've always just grown annuals in because of my zone, plus I want blooms all summer long.....

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

No flowers but it's hard to beat the power of caladiums and they'll last until frost. DG's Bill is having his caladium sale now but there's just a few more days to take advantage of his 15% off for DG'ers.

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1293496/

No deadheading.
No flashy flowers.
No big deal to plant.
They'd love the shade/sun siting!

Thumbnail by pirl
Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I guess what I should say is no "foilage only" plants - I have those covered, lol. But thanks!

DeLand, FL(Zone 9b)

Impatiens.

New Port Richey, FL

When Ihad an east facing porch with LARGE oaks in the front I actually had pretty good luck with nasturtiums and violas. The nasturtiums were the vining type and trailed up the posts so I couldn't move them, but I also had petunia's and allysum in pots that I made 2 of each and had one out front and 1 out back in mostly sun and just switced them on the weekends. They didn't reach full potential but looked pretty good most of the time. I still do that with houseplants Because my house is just too dark to keep them in all the time.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

You might have to compromise, but fuchsia, torenia, bacopa, oxalis, heliotrope, Brazilian fireworks, skullcap .....

Al

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)