2-liter "Earth Bottle"?

Everett, WA(Zone 8a)

I'm about to make 100 or so flower pots from 2 liter soda bottles, and was considering building a small reservoir into the bottom of each. My idea is to keep the plants from drying out too rapidly if the soilless mix holds too little water. I would be giving many of these these plants away, and expect some recipients to water them unreliably, and plant them into the ground late, or never. So the longer they can survive with marginal care, the better.

I'm a total newbie to EBs and HEBs, and not super-experienced with growing in pots or planters. I'm hoping for advice from people who know how these reservoirs work in practice.

What I do best is over-watering seedling in small cells, so I worry about drainage.

- I would drill or melt 1/4" holes about 1 1/2 inches up from the bottom of the 2 liter bottle, so there would be a small water reservoir.

- My "colander" would be the bottom 2" cut from a much smaller bottle, inverted and drilled with several small holes.

- The circumference between the small inverted bottle bottom and the 2 liter bottle bottom would be my wick.

- I'm planning for them to be top-watered until the reservoir fills, and some comes out the sides.

Since I use a fast-draining mix with lots of small bark nuggets, I worried about its ability to wick water all the way up a 7 inch soil column. I am considering adding a 6" strip of cotton flannel as a literal "wick". Or that might be an unnecessary concern.

If I don 't worry about aeration through the 7 inch deep soil, I might use more peat and pine fines (dust and small fibers). Then it would hold more water but the bottom few in c hes might become anaerobic.

Holly Springs, NC(Zone 7b)