Your best tips for growing beautiful African violets

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)

What are your best tips for growing beautiful big healthy and lots of blooms.

I've been growing them for about 6 months now, and I have a huge shelf and each shelf is lit up. I absolutely love all the variegated ones, and have stuck mostly to that type of AV.

What are your best tips for growing them. Especially keeping them in bloom.

Northeast, MO(Zone 5b)

I love the variegated ones too!!! Mine are either in bloom or about to bloom. Lots of tips and methods out there. I have mine wicked and constant feed them. I will flush them and skip fertilizer maybe every 5 or 6 weeks. Best tip I have is keep the roots hugged up in their pots. They love to be rootbound and it also keeps the roots from rotting. My neighbor bought an Optimara and asked me to help her repot it. It easily went from a 4" to a 2" pot and started blooming for her in no time. What are your tips Kathy Ann?? Join in Lynn, Jim, Karen, Roly and others :)

Connie

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)

thanks for those tips, I don't really have any of my own, I'm learning lol

Miami, FL(Zone 10b)

Kathy I did see your stand. Looks awesome !!! I would say that if you can keep the light on a timer so that they get about the same amout of light every day. I keep mines in trays with pebbles at the bottom and water once the tray is dry. Like Connie says they like to be snug in their pots. Remember to trim the inflorescence once the flowers start fading otherwise the flower might start decomposing on top of a leaf and end up with bacterial rot. I fertilize with every watering as well skipping a week out of the month. Given that I have to water twice a week. Variegated leaves are great and I love them but try some of the fantasy flowers with the variegated blooms. Those are gorgeous too !!!! I am no expert either. Still can't get new plants to grow out of leaves...:( But will try again soon.

Miami, FL(Zone 10b)