But they're just worms!

Cloverdale, CA(Zone 15)

I'm new to vermiculture by about a week and change. Basically I gave myself a rotator cuff injury turning compost with a shovel, wanted to delegate responsibility, discovered a worm farm at a gardening supply outlet, brought it home, started reading and emailing, and my most frequently uttered phrase ever since has been, "but they're just worms!" First I had to find the worms. Sixty bucks for two pounds not including shipping them 20 miles up the road?! They're just worms! Then the parade of vendors ready to sell me worm-appropriate peat moss, coconut coir, pumice, special bedding paper upon which my worms may lay their heads (which end is the head?), a special -- no, it can't be... but it is -- ladder so they can climb up to the next bin without exhaustion, and I stopped when I ran afoul of the decorative bins in event I want to keep them in the kitchen. My cooking is bad enough: I don't need a new way to convince guests not to eat at my house. Believe me, I didn't buy any of this stuff, just the bins. A kindly neighbor donated a pound of red wigglers, I put the bins on the porch, damp newspaper in the bottom bin, layer of shredded paper, worms, table scraps (no dairy, citrus or animal waste), a bit of clean earth from my garden and I put the lid on it. I live in the north San Francisco Bay area, Zone 15, temps range from freezing mornings in the winter to torrid in mid-summer but extremes seldom last longer than a few days. My porch has a roof so the bins would never be in direct sunlight or rain, and I'd cover it in frost and ice it when it's hot. Am I messing up? I mean... they're just, you know.

Camanche, IA(Zone 5a)

Hi, onthe 101
No! your not messing up ! sounds like a plan to me, I have my worm bins in my bed room. Works out great for me. Don't feed too much at one time, don't let you worms bins dry out. When you tell people I GOT WORMS, they look at you funny. Welcome to the wonderful world of worms.
Phil