Humus and Protein - Solution for Clay Soil

Trumbull, CT(Zone 7a)

I found this very interesting and previously was unable to find good
suggestions for treating clay:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=Y0M6dbOoewc&feature=endscreen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adhssib1ggE&feature=relmfu

I am new to gardening and am wondering what others think of his ideas.

We have piles of grass clippings that are probably more than 4 years old that
has essentially composted back in our wooded area. Is the very old material
on the bottom essentially humus?

Pete

This message was edited Oct 25, 2012 11:34 AM

Trumbull, CT(Zone 7a)

Watching this again, I notice that there is very little qantitative data given and it looks to be about half educational and half infomercial! The presenter owns the company Soil Secrets and it seems that the video is really an advertisement but I'm still curious if there is any validity to it:
http://soilsecrets.com/meet-the-owners/

In case anyone has not watched the video, this person claims that he had salty, alkaline, clay soil that the experts told him could not possibly be fixed. As I understand it, he top dressed it with humus and some sort of bean protein, did not till it and has continued to do this for 23 years but started planting from seed several years after he started. He has many trees and other plants that have grown and thrived there for 20 years or so.

I know a bit about chemistry, not much, and not much about biology, but from what I do know I can't see how this worked unless there is an organism that processed (digested?) the clay, thrived and multiplied to have processed so much clay. But I am not an expert and am interested in other ideas.

This message was edited Oct 26, 2012 11:04 AM

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)