carving

Decatur, GA

Getting some work done. Practicing some carving techniques I learned during classes with Bonnie Gibson at the Michigan Gourd Fest last month. It was a lot of fun. Lots more work to do before I can call it 'finished'.
I put a picture with and without the flash. It looks so different.

Thumbnail by helenchild Thumbnail by helenchild
Holly Springs, NC(Zone 7b)

Wow! Just wow!

Macon, GA(Zone 8a)

That's really beautiful!

Will you be entering it or other of your work at the Georgia Gourd Society Gourdfest competition later this month?

Decatur, GA

Thanks. I don't plan on entering anything. This really is my first real carving project. I have been fooling around with gourds for 15 years or so but never have had much time to devote to the hobby. But I am now recently retired.... yeah.
Do you do any carving/painting/gourd art? How about some pictures?
I do hope to get to the festival though and get some thick shelled gourds. The ones I have grown haven't been very thick.
Helen

Macon, GA(Zone 8a)

Helen –

On a whim, I went to the Gourdfest last Fall in Perry. I’d never seen gourd art before and was blown away! I bought some gourds, looked at some books, and have done absolutely nothing. I’m a little intimidated – silly, isn’t it? I’m bound and determined to start a project this weekend. It’ll be a while, I think, before I post any pictures!

You really should enter some of your work in the competition. Are you a member of the Georgia Gourd Society? They’ve really been encouraging folks to enter their work. Looking back at my photos from last year’s carving categories (for example), there were very few entries in the Novice class – I think your gourd would do very well!

BTW, don’t I recall reading that you were growing gourds this year? How did that work out?

Decatur, GA

Thuvia,