Cherokee Purple Tomatoe

Helena, MT

What am I looking at here??? This is my first attempt at growing Cherokee Purple tomatoes and I have had several tomatoes which have this white patch of skin on them. The paper white patch as seen in the attached picture appears to be a layer of undeveloped skin. It is depressed somewhat, but appears hard to the touch. I have never seen this before and would like to know what it is and if I need to discard these tomatoes. Also, I am not completely sure these are actually Cherokee Purple tomatoes. I received some pepper seeds from the same company which were incorrectly labeled. The more ripe tomatoes from this packet of seed are turning red as they ripen with no hint of purple.

Thumbnail by mraider3
Salem, NY(Zone 4b)

The white patch looks to me like what's called sunscald.

I can't tell from the picture if those fruits are or are not Cherokee Purple, but if the y ripen up completely red they aren't.

Cherokee Purple doesn't show any purple color at all, it's what I call a pink black, shoulders are usually green and fruits usually more beefsteak looking than what you show.

Black From Tula and Indian stripe are also what I call pink/blacks but Carbon and Black Krim are red/blacks. The difference is that the pink blacks have a clear epidermis and the red/blacks have a yellow epidermis.

Here are some pictures of Cherokee Purple from Google Images. Put your mouse pointer over a picture and a window appears telling you that it is CP and where the picture came from.

http://www.google.com/search?num=10&hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=757&bih=403&q=cherokee+purple+tomato&oq=Cherokee+Purple&gs_l=img.1.0.0l2j0i24l8.1516.5969.0.13516.15.15.0.0.0.0.437.2124.2-5j0j2.7.0...0.0...1ac.1.aMe1r2f-lsU

You'll see some so called white patches on some of the above fruits but that's due to photography only and camera flash. I'm assuming the white patches you see you see on the fruits with your own eyes.