Newbie Bone meal question?

Dansville, NY

Hi, I am new to this forum. We have just bought a farm house in central NY state and it has an old peony bed at least 70 years old, with many of the peonies missing in areas. I have purchased new bare root peonies to fill in these bare spots when they arrive in the fall. I am new at all this so any help would be very much appreciated.
I have raked in top soil and composted manure in an attempt to revitilize the soil of the old bed for now and will fertilize in the spring when the new growth comes up
My question is if it would help or hinder the new plantings if I mixed in a cup of bone meal directly with the soil that will fill in around the new peony root. I also plan on mixing bone meal and composted manure in the bottom of the planting hole as well.
Thank in advance, Bob...

Duluth, GA(Zone 7b)

Hello Bob, welcome to the Peonies forum. I wanted to share with you the information that I saved from a well known nursery's website several years ago:

"Peonies should not be over-fertilized. Any complete garden fertilizer, not too rich in nitrogen, works. Rose food and conservative applications of BONE MEAL are ideal for peonies. Fertilizer should be applied mid to late spring around the drip line of the leaves. Over fertilization may reduce flowering. Spring and fall toppings of compost may be used instead of fertilizer."

Be sure to not let the composted manure come in direct contact with the roots of your new plants, as it can burn them. Some people don't fertilize their peonies, and they posted beautiful blooms in our 2012 threads.