I'm new to lillies.....

Mount Pleasant, PA(Zone 6a)

If you'd asked me before this year I would have told you I hated lilies.
I'm allergic to the easter lily it's scent gives me a migrane.
2 years ago I put stella d'oro day lily in with my coral bells & other perennials. I've always felt kind of 'meh' about it. It's pretty common in gardens here & I like it when I'm the only one in the neighborhood with something (who doesn't).
In June Holland Bulb Farms had mystery grab bags for $20. I ordered one for full sun. Lo & behold lily bulbs lots of lily bulbs. So I said whatever & planted them figuring that if I hated them I could give them away & if they didn't bloom it was no big loss.
Oh my word I AM IN LOVE! I received night embers daylily, Bernini Oriental Lily, Sphinx double astic, Mero Star & Mona Lisa. I am absolutely totally in love with these plants! The mero star are blooming their heads off big beautiful blooms & aren't heavily scented so no scent sensitivity!
Now I'm no longer 'meh' and going "How do I make sure these babies come up next year. I have lily fever.
I'm going to thread daffs in with the lily bulbs this fall. Should I mulch for the winter?
Do I pull up & over winter in the plant room?
What should I fertilize with?
What suggestions does everyone have for more of these pretties?
The mero star & mona lisa are beautiful beautiful pinks & I find them enchanting but want to put some other colors in purples, blues, whites, deep reds, vibrant yellows.
Oriental vs astic which do you prefer & why?
I've been reading through the forum & really want to do some brain picking here.
Thanks for any advice you can send my way.
*edited because I cannot spell "lilies" correctly & always spell it "lillies".

This message was edited Aug 11, 2012 11:28 AM

Warwick, RI(Zone 6b)

You will do fine leaving them in the ground, no need to pull them out of ground. They will spread more each year. If you become addicted like myself this year also, try