What is This

New Hampton, NY

For the past four years this lily sends out its buds Late May early June, but the deer devours them before flower emerges. This year I was determine to assist in the survival to see exactly what was behind the buds. I used deer defense, and it survived. I was so surprised at the size of the lily and the awesome aroma. I picked both flowers and placed them in a small vase of water. For seven continuous nights my entire living room was perfumed from sunset until sunrise. Anyone knows the name of this lily? I must have planted it some four years ago.

Thumbnail by Vivixant
Middle of, VA(Zone 7a)

Tis the season for our lilies!! I'm not a lily expert by any stretch - you might do better going on Lily forum to get an ID http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/lilies/all/

Chicago, IL(Zone 6a)

Hi there,

I have a hunch what your lily could be. Would it be possible to take photos of a side profile of the bloom as well as the plant it came from? A close up of foliage would be nice, too.

Thanks,
Ispahan

New Hampton, NY

Chantell thanks so much for the link, no luck there but I'll keep trying.

New Hampton, NY

Thanks Ispahan, here are the additional photos

Thumbnail by Vivixant Thumbnail by Vivixant Thumbnail by Vivixant
Middle of, VA(Zone 7a)

Vi - hopefully someone can help you here then. May I just say that last photo is exceptional - just stunning!! I'd upload it to Plantfiles once you have an ID on that beauty

New Hampton, NY

Chantell would you believe it is still so firm and fragrant; I moved it to my bathroom so I can enjoy its scent while watching Leverage on TV. I hope I can ID it. Thanks for you kind comments.

Middle of, VA(Zone 7a)

Compliment well deserved - I love how long the lilies last for us!! I've asked my 'family' on the Mid Atlantic threads if they can peek over here and help you out http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1261384/ ...also try the ID forum http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/plantid/all/