Elephant Ear

Saugerties, NY(Zone 5a)

My elephant ear is thriving in this heat, this beauty was from a package of 3 from walmart that I had purchased in spring of 2011 and was lucky enough to over winter in a Tupperware tote in my hall closet, it amazed me when I checked it out in March and it had started to grow already, I did pot this up in my apartment in late March and then re-potted into the big pot in mid May, I swear its grows inches over night LOL... Please show & brag of your E.E.'s I'd love to see some bigger than mine
Christine

Thumbnail by jasminesmom
Pearisburg, VA(Zone 7a)

I love EE too. This is my first year growing them.
Kathy

Thumbnail by shihtzumom Thumbnail by shihtzumom
Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

love mine too.First year for these teeny plants from Wellspring. The blackmagic tripled in size overnight.
The second image is Mojito and last image is Teacup.leaves hold water and are born on tall stems

Thumbnail by ge1836 Thumbnail by ge1836 Thumbnail by ge1836 Thumbnail by ge1836
Saugerties, NY(Zone 5a)

Kathy & ge yours are so beautiful, I love the blackmagic, I've got to get that next year. Thanks for sharing
Christine

Ocala, FL(Zone 9a)

Stupid question from EE newbie. Are these from bulbs & you have to lift them in the winter, like caladiums? Even though I'm in FL, we get freezes in North Central and I've learned the hard way that tropicals need to be protected down here. :(

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

Mine came as teeny plants from Wellspring Tropicals
I have never had any luck keeping tropicals over winter in the house and had a decent looking plant the second season. Its aluxury I afford myself and I order new plants and caladium bulbs every year.

Saugerties, NY(Zone 5a)

I've always purchased mine as bulbs and I do dig them up every fall and over winter them where ever I can find the coolest place, in the bottom of my fridge works good for me, I've even had them survive in a hall closet.
Christine

Ocala, FL(Zone 9a)