Japanese Maple for Zone 9a

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

Hello All-
Looking for words of advice from the JM experts out there. I'm a professional landscape/garden designer currently working on the plans to turn a client's yard into a Japanese Garden. Can anyone advise me on a JM max 15' tall to go in ground and a smaller (5-8') JM suitable for container culture that can successfully be grown in Florida Zone 9a?

This message was edited Jul 7, 2012 10:44 AM

Pepperell, MA(Zone 6a)

sorry i can not offer any advise in your zone - good luck

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

I think if you have a spot that offers some afternoon shade you could get away with most of the smaller JMs you'd want to plant. I'm also in Zone 9a (or b now that they've updated the map) but I suspect your area is probably more humid than mine. That said, I think a Glowing Embers would do well in a container in your area. If you planted it in the ground I think it would exceed your 15' max eventually.

Some in-ground trees you might want to consider would be Fireglow, Japanese Sunrise (I'm told grows 15'-20'), Moonfire, Orangeola, Otto's Dissectum, Red Dragon, Seiryu, and Waterfall to name a few.

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

Thanks GardenSox. I've been looking into some of the varieties you've named- specifically Fireglow, Red Dragon, and Seiryu. The humidity here is one of the problematic factors, so I'm trying to stay away from any Japanese Maple with a really dense growth habit. I may have to ensure prophylactic fungicide sprays are included in the maintenance schedule for the client regardless of the varieties chosen.
I contacted Essence Of The Tree to ask for their recommendations. Haven't heard anything from them yet.

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

Recieved an email from Essence of The Tree. In their opinion, the site does not get enough cold temps for any Japanese Maple to do well. Haven't decided whether or not to try it anyway.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)