Wild Raspberries and Mayapples

Cherry Grove, OH(Zone 6b)

The wild fruits are ripening early this year. These aren't quite ready yet, they need another week. But the warm spring has really helped them along. The nearly ripe Raspberries are deliciously tart and refreshing. How are the natives doing in your neck of the woods?

(Warning do not eat unripe Mayapples, I have never tried them green, so I have no personal experience, but all sources I've read say the unripe fruit is contains toxins.)

Thumbnail by SteveOh Thumbnail by SteveOh Thumbnail by SteveOh
So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

I didn't know mayapples were edible at all!

What do they taste like?

This message was edited Jun 3, 2012 5:33 PM

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4b)

The wild strawberries are ripening in my yard.

Mayapples taste rather like citrus-y grapes to me, but most who eat them have their own flavor description. It is a bit unique. I've seen comments that say the unripe fruit tastes like soap, but as unripe fruit is reported to contain toxins, I've never tasted it to verify.

I've also seen comments that, in quantity, Mayapple fruits will give you a "green apple stomach-ache" or act like a laxative. I haven't experienced either symptom, but I rarely find more than two or three ripe at one time so "eating in quantity" hasn't been an option. I suspect some of these symptoms are from eating the seeds, which are reported to contain some of the toxins present in the rest of the plant. I don't eat the rind or the seeds.

Here in my area the Mayapples ripen to a light yellow, occasionally with a brown tip. When ripe they pull away from the dying leaves readily, often falling off when disturbed. However there are many photos of dark yellow and even reddish fruits, so I suspect there is quite a bit of variability in the species.

This is a fruit where "checking with a local expert" and "proceed with caution" is good advice. People differ in their ability to tolerate different foodstuffs.