How Long for my bales to cool?

Grove City, OH

I am new to this and just found this site and joined yesterday.

I started trying to condition 6 hay bales about 10 days ago. I don't know what kind of hay, they are just hay to me.

I saturated them for the 4 days and then watered in some "natural urea" over the next couple of days. I took the internal temp yesterday and they all were between 130 and 137 deg, they are really cooking. I took the temp again this afternoon and they are the same.

Here is the big question. Now that they are cooking do I continue to water them heavily daily or lightly daily or not at all?

How many days will these things cook and how long until I can expect to be able to plant, any ideas?

I have done enough reading here to know that I need them back down to around 85 deg to safely plant

I really appreciate your help, not only am I new to hay bale gardening, I'm new to gardening.

Bardstown, KY(Zone 6a)

Well first of all, welcome to DG and the SB Gardening forum! You will find a huge amount of information on every aspect of gardening, so you won't be "new" for long. Keep watering your bales every day, the heat just tells you they are still decomposing. Probably 4-5 more days and they should start to cool down and be ready to plant in by early/mid next week. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Doug

Grove City, OH

Everything was going along well. Then two of the six bales heated back up and cooked the plants in them. I am trying to get those two to cool down again and I will have to replace the plants.

I should have known by the mushrooms. The 4 cool bales had mushrooms growing on them everywhere. Zero mushrooms on two bales. The mushrooms were trying to tell me about the problem but I didn't get it until it was too late.

Oh well, learn as you go.

This message was edited May 23, 2012 9:02 AM

Grove City, OH

Some pictures

Thumbnail by natface Thumbnail by natface Thumbnail by natface
Saylorsburg, PA(Zone 6a)