Lilium longiflorum question

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

hi all,
i am a newbie on lilies so please bear with me.
a friend works in a florist shop and last year after easter, she gave me a leftover "easter lily". i read up on them and planted it with the roots shaded and the top to eventually be in full sun. it stayed green a good long time and then slowly died down to nothing. early this spring (february) i clipped the dead stalks off and a few weeks later green started sprouting up. the way i understood it, this particular lily doesn't get very tall. the two stalks just started opening up this week and one stalk is about 3.5' tall and the other is a good 5'. is this normal?
i've attached some pictures to get a hopefully positive id.
thanks so much.

the third image is supposed to show a yellowish/gold line running along the outside of the petal.

Thumbnail by trackinsand Thumbnail by trackinsand Thumbnail by trackinsand
Stamford, CT(Zone 6b)

You may have seen this
http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/2841/

I'm guessing this lily does grow in your zone (9-11) and was probably forced into bloom last year. When I have transplanted lilies (not bulbs), I have gotten unpredictable results the first year. I thought I was doing the plants a favor by separating plants that were too close, and the end result was poorer bloom.

I suspect that after this season, you will have more uniform growth. Lilies can take a bit of abuse, but cannot stand wet feet, so may sure you have good drainage. If you cannot provide good drainage, move the plant to a large container that is at least 12 inches in diameter with good drainage holes. With the exception of predators, lilies seldom require much attention. Feed sparingly.

Marcia

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

hey there,
thanks for responding and thanks for the link. good reading there.
yes, this lily does do very well in central florida. i see them everywhere.