Lilies for Hummingbirds-Martagon Questions

Buffalo, MN(Zone 4a)

I would like to add some lilies to my hummingbird garden and have read that the Martagons are a good choice for attracting birds. I've also read that Martagons can be a little tricky to grow so thought I would check with you "lily experts". I'm in zone 4, my garden is partially shaded with full sun in the morning. I have successfully grown Asiatic lilies in this garden.

My main question about the Martagons is where should I buy them? Several local nurseries offer plants in limited quantities in the fall for $20-$35. I've seen bulbs offered online for fall planting for less-$11-15 each. Would I be better off to get the plants or the bulbs? Is there anything I need to know about them to give them a better chance of thriving?

Thanks!
Deb

Chicago, IL(Zone 6a)

Hi Deb,

I can't answer your martagon questions because I have no experience growing them. But I wanted to call your attention to the online catalogue of The Lily Garden in WA. She doesn't list any martagons for sale, but mentions several Asiatic hybrids that are good for attracting hummingbirds such as:

Karen North
Red Velvet
Rosepoint Lace
White Lace
Antique Lace
Eurydice

I am sure there are others that I am forgetting, too. I highly, highly recommend The Lily Garden as source of quality bulbs, and probably most people on this forum would agree. The owner, Judith, is an amazing person and is one of the giants of the lily world.

I think B & D Lilies lists martagons for sale, usually in the fall catalogues. This is also an excellent, impeccable source. If you e-mail them to ask their opinion of planting martagons, I am sure they will give a very helpful response that will help you decide what is best for your garden and growing conditions. Both B & D and The Lily Garden have been patient enough to answer my e-mail queries whenever I need more information.

Buffalo, MN(Zone 4a)