Will Butterfly Bush Grow??

Canton--Football HOF, OH(Zone 6a)

I have a butterfly bush that I bought in a late Summer- Early Fall 2011 sale. It was very spindly at about 12 inches in height and had actually grown a couple of short flower stems before going dormant. I cut it back in the very late Fall - I know, what was I thinking? Northeast Ohio (zone 6a) has had a very unseasonably warm Spring of 2012, and it started to grow some leaves. I covered it when I was aware that there was a frost warning, but now it's just died back. No new growth at all. I have no experience with butterfly bush. Will it grow eventually? Did I make a mistake by cutting it back in the Fall, or is our unusual Spring confusing it? Will it bounce back??

Thumbnail by gardenergal17
FU, United States(Zone 9b)

I think Butterfly Bushes like warmer climates, plenty of sun.
If it goes down below 36 degrees they should get covered (usually a thin, light-colored, breathable cloth would work. Not sure they like constant wet soil during cold winter temperatures, and I think they only grow good for about 3 years. They may prefer sandier soil instead of dark moist soil. But then again, I'm no "expert".

Also not sure you would have had to cut it back real short, maybe should leave it at a height of 4 inches if you cut it back. The one in the photo definitely looks dead.
If you get new plants, try to plant them in a soil that is slightly more sandy, make sure it gets no less than 6-7 hours direct sun. And in winter only cover it if it gets 36 or below, with a sheet or small towel, but remove that sheet when temps go above 36 so it can get sun. Then hopefully by next spring it will start sprouting new leaves again.

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)