My antique milk jug terrarium

suburban K.C., MO(Zone 6a)

Here is my new (and my only so far) terrarium made out of a friend's antique glass milk jug. I didn't alter the jug in any way. I put a Pilea 'Aluminum' and a Polka-Dot Plant 'Splash' in it so far, I'm gonna put rocks and some other little plants in it eventually. Does anybody have any advice or anything on my terrarium? I'm a noob, so do tell if I've done anything wrong with it, I can take constructive criticism fine.

I've put the lid on it, no cats can get in it. That one was investigating but she lost interest after I put the lid on. I think I may need to make some kind of wire mesh top or something so everything can breathe and it doesn't get all foggy on the glass from watering.

Thumbnail by shortleaf
Clarksville, TN(Zone 7a)

Looks good so far. I don't know if you added any charcoal, but that's always a good idea to keep wet or damp soil smelling "sweet".

That's a large milk jug ... what is the size?

Thanks Cville. Charcoal, I'll see if I can get some. I asked my friend (who is also my roommate), the size and she doesn't know, I would guess 3 or 4 gallons. Everybody that's seen it has liked it.
I'm thinking about adding a 'Chocolate Chip' Ajuga to it that I have extra. I'd like to get a little Fern for it too.

Clarksville, TN(Zone 7a)

I should have said horticultural charcoal in case anyone reading this is unfamiliar with the product.

I love the CC ajuga. I just bought a lovely ajuga with variegated foliage. Well, I can't remember the name at the moment but seems like it might be 'Sparkler' or something like that. Very pretty.

And, yes, ferns add a lot to terrariums, IMHO, They're naturals for it.

Looking forward to seeing more photos as you progress. :)