Japanese Maple Seedlings vary greatly in color

West Babylon, NY(Zone 7a)

At my house I have a Japanese Maple that is at least 15 years old. It has light green leaves with light red veins, I have no idea what cultivar it is but it's the healthiest tree ever! There are no other Japanese Maples in our area. The seedlings all start out with purple baby leaves ( the tree seeds are light red), but when they get true leaves I have noticed seedlings with green,red, or purple leaves. If my tree has light green leaves, why is there so much variation in seedlings? In the Fall the leaves are the best looking in our area!

Here are the seedlings see how they vary greatly.

Thumbnail by keithp2012 Thumbnail by keithp2012 Thumbnail by keithp2012 Thumbnail by keithp2012
Wilmington, NC(Zone 8a)

I'm no expert but my understanding is that most commercially sold JM like yours are not grown from seeds (seedlings) but rather grafted ie. a red branch grafted to a green maple root stock. The roots of green maples are supposed to be hardier and grow faster so JM growers use the rootstoock of green seedlings. Seeds from grafted trees have either the DNA from the green rootstock or the grafted red branch which is now your tree. You're lucky to have seedlings and blessed that some of them are red.

No exaggeration, I get over 500 seeds falling each year and I'm littered with hundreds of seedlings on the ground come spring. I'll probably give some seeds away since they are so plentiful and the tree a real beauty!
Thanks for explaining that to me!

Galien, MI