Basic Chart of Orchid Types

Moss Landing, CA(Zone 9b)

Hi, I am somewhat new to orchids and have a few which have been doing well for the last five years. They even bloom on regular basis and I what they are :)
But a friend is offering me a few shoots from an orchid and we don't know what it is. No photo yet.
I have been searching for over an hour now for a chart with diagrams of the basic leaf forms an orchid can take.
This orchid has thick "bulbs" at the base like Cymbidiums, but very short and wide leaves. I am told the flowers will be large with purple and brown colors. I realize it is not possible to id it from this little information.
Does anyone know of a basic botanical chart of common orchid forms? Thanks!

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Thanks for posting a good question about basic leaf forms. There are any number of books out there on orchid culture that also have some common leaf forms but I can't see how that would help here because orchids of the same genus, and similar leaf forms, grow all over the world, in different altitudes, latitudes and conditions and require different culture. They don't have as narrow a range as the terrestrial plants we are more familiar with.

Sight unseen, Zygopetalums and their hybrids come to mind when thinking of brown and purple flowers. I was going to post links but there are a lot of Zygo photos and culture advice out there. Could you confirm if this is the orchid you are referring too?

The shoots of all orchids are called "leads". You will need an intact clump of three (not separate "shoots" or "bulbs"), with as many roots as possible to hopefully have a bloom size plant within a year or two.

It's great that you are doing well with orchids. Having regular blooms and plants that do well are a testimonial. Ask questions and join us on the monthly thread with comments or photos.