Carnivorous newbie…..Help!?!

Jacksonville, FL(Zone 9a)

Hi, I'm new to Carnivorous plants. I have acquired a Nepenthes ( pitcher plant?) A couple of questions…..
The water that i use…..Rain water , I'm sure is best, but…..Little to no rain….Should I use bottled? Distilled? Tap? What would you recommend?
The oldest pitchers have browned, shriveled, and died….I cut them off, back to the leaf. All of the new pitchers are a lot smaller than the originals. Normal ????
These are Carnivorous plants…But should they also receive any additional fertilizer?
And finally….Can you lead me to best informative site? Or books that you might recommend for a beginner?
Thanks so much for any info/opinions/suggestions that you can pass on. :-)

noonamah, Australia

You need to find out whether your plant is a lowland or a highland species. The highland, where the majority of them seem to come from, grow in a lower temperature environment with little change and constant high relative humidity. They're often grown in terrariums or greenhouses where temperature and humidity can be better controlled. The lowland species take higher temperatures and can deal with a bit less humidity, to an extent.

An advantage with rain water is that it's got lots of oxygen and no (or negligible) mineral content. Of course, coastal and nearby areas do pick up some salt and other minerals from wind and rain passing over the sea. If you're in or near an industrial area the rain might be contaminated in any case. Bottled water can contain a lot of minerals, depending on source. Tap water often has a lot of additives, chlorine being a major one. Distilled water should be free of minerals, but oxygen also.

Some Nepenthes grow in the ground, so mineral water might not be bad for them. Otherwise after (non-contaminated) rain, distilled water would be the better choice.