Cornus 'Venus' Experience

Stanwood, WA

Anybody growing Cornus 'Venus' aka 'KN30-8' from the Rutgers breeding program? I have been growing two since 2007 ( I planted 1 in 2006 and 1 in 2007). Both tree's grew vigorously at first. However, two years ago one started to color very early and drop most of it's leaves. I thought maybe it wasn't getting enough water so last year I made sure it was soaker watered on a weekly basis. It continued it's decline and this winter I see no bloom buds and considerable dead wood. Even worse the 2006 planting, which is in another part of the garden, in a very prominent spot, is showing sign's of the same condition. Unfortunately I didn't take any pix but I can say there was little or no spotting. What are other members experience with 'Venus"?

Thanks
Mike

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Maybe you have a graft problem, or some insect like a borer has attacked your plant(s).

Images would help. You can post one at a time, each time you reply to your post here.

I have one 'Venus' at the Valley, along with one 'Starlight'. They are both growing fine, though I don't think that they had the best start from grafts compared to other grafted plants I've grown.

Christiana, TN(Zone 6b)

Hey, VV. Long time.
Do you have pics of your dogwoods or more info about them from your point of view? I've been interested in them for a long time.

Here's a 2009 (second year in the ground) image of Starlight™ at the Valley.

This was a 5G plant about 5' tall, with two stems at about 3 feet. The graft looked pretty poor, and it was planted too deep in the soil mass. I'm expecting it to take several years to establish properly, but I'm happy with its performance so far given the lousy start in life.

It was a gift from my mom, so save the crits.

Thumbnail by ViburnumValley

Here is a same day (May 2009, just planted) image of Venus™ at the Valley.