Violets 101

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

I am a beginner in violets. You can find me on the daylily forum most of the time. I have over 300 plus dozens of hosta, but when it comes to growing these I seem to not succeed very well. My granny grew them so well! I can remember she had a huge collection.

First what fertilizer do you use? I want mine to rebloom, it has been months!

Second, what planters are best?

I have mine in the kitchen and it is a northern window :(

Any help will be appreciated, tips for growing them from a leaf would be great!

Teresa in KY

Thumbnail by bluegrassmom
Chicago, IL(Zone 6a)

Hey Teresa!

I'm not an expert on Violets but the basics are simple:

Give them a well draining, porous mix (for example AV-mix plus added Perlite), keep them moist but not wet, let the mix dry out a little before you water again, give them bright light but no direct sun (a bright North window might very well work) and that's pretty much everything there's to it.

My opinion on fertilizer is that any balanced fertilizer, watered down to about 1/4 strength will work. I use MiracleGro Tomato, for example. That's just my opinion and it works for me but everybody has their own "secret recipe" in this department... :)

Keep Violets in small pots. They don't make big root systems and don't like a lot of wet mix around their roots.

Leaf propagation is easy as well. Just take a mature but not too old leaf and cut or break it off the plant. I cut the petiole to about an inch on an angle and trim the leaf blade on standards but that's optional. Stick into your favorite propagation mix and make sure that the leaf blade doesn't touch the mix. If necessary, you can use toothpicks to keep the leaf upright until it's rooted. Dome, put into a semi bright spot and wait.

I hope that helped. Good growing! :)

Olaf

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

Thanks, wish me luck on making blooms and babies lol

Chicago, IL(Zone 6a)

You can do it! ;)

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)