Recommended coleus for houseplant

Phelan, CA(Zone 8b)

Hi! I'm new to the coleus forum at Dave's. I'm interested in growing a coleus or two or three. . . .lol indoors. Are certain varieties easier to grow as houseplants? I want something that doesn't grow bigger than about 14." Looking at varieties online, Alligator looked good to me. Also, Arizona Sunset, Careless Love, Fairway Mosiac and Kong Mosiac. Are any of these easy for indoor growing? I live in S. California and the plants would get anywhere from 3-6 hours of filtered west sun, depending on the time of year. But we have very few overcast days, year round.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions on varieties to start out with! I heard starters can be obtained in fall for growing indoors. Is this true? Thank you!

Randi

Stamford, CT(Zone 6b)

I cannot tell you which coleus plants don't grow beyond 14 inches, only that they tend to be extremely easily groomed, and if you wish to keep the plant smaller, take of the top of the stem and make a new plant with the cutting. I know there are some plants that are contained well below 14 inches, but the coleus plant I have that stays low is a trailer known as "swinging linda." When you look for a smaller plant, the description will probably be "compact" rather than small.

Coleus do well indoors and are easy to grow, but should not be neglected. Their thin leaves don't hold much moisture, so depending on your winter heat, they may need daily watering. While most coleus plants don't require a lot of direct sunlight outdoors, they do need a certain amount of indoor (artificial light) or a nice, sunny window, and plants with outdoor exposure will probably need to be turned for even looking growth or you'll find them leaning toward the light.

They can be easily rooted in water or soil, and if gardening comes easy to you, growing coleus indoors will undoubtedly be rewarding for you.