gladiolas in florida

Orlando, FL(Zone 9b)

hello. does anyone have any experience/advice growing gladiolas in florida, or anyone who has grown them successfully. thanks

Duxbury, MA(Zone 7a)

I'm going to bump this up, as I am a new Florida gardener and have the same question.

Rochester, MN

I have no experience with glads in Florida, but I know that many of the glads that florists get in the northern parts of the country during the winter come from Florida.

Glads aren't very hard to grow really. If you can find bulbs in your area, you shouldn't have any problems growing them now. Bloom times for glads are about 65-80 days, so planting them now will help you beat the summer heat w/o a lot of extra watering. Plant your bulbs about 6" deep and hill them later on when the plants are about 8-10" tall. Mix up your planting. Plant some of the bulbs right side up, some side ways and some upside down. It will give you a longer bloom time.

(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

I don't dare plant them like that. I have enough trouble getting them to bloom here in our short season as it is. lol. but it surely is a neat idea. I have to get mine started now. Gives them a 2 month head start on going outside.

Duxbury, MA(Zone 7a)

Mary, how do you start them early? Do you plant them in dirt in pots indoors?

(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

Yup. I just put them in individual little cups, like 12 oz dixie cups. then plant them out in late (very late) May. they are still pretty late bloomming. I would have to check my pictures (I taken pics almost every day during the summer) to see exactly when and whom. Usually it is Atom first. I tried potting them in larger pots and put them on the deck but they (Abyssinians) didn't do as well as they did in the ground up next to the footings for warmth.

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)