Austrian Pine, Waco, TX suddenly has lots of yellow needles

Waco, TX(Zone 8a)

This pine was planted in the fall of 2010. We were told it was grown within 100 miles of here, so although not native, it was adapted to the area. We have babied this tree through the intense drought of 2011 and it seemed to be doing well until about one month ago. We began to notice some yellowing of the needles so we fertilized it with 4 stakes of tree and shrub fertilizer. Could that be the cause of even more yellowing and needle drop? It has been green all year and even through the intense heat of the summer so we thought we were in the clear until now.

What do we do now?

Thanks.

Thumbnail by cedarstudio
Waco, TX(Zone 8a)

Sorry, don't mean to be confusing. We used to live in Denver and I see I need to update my location. We live in Waco, TX now.

Fort Wayne, IN

I'm not an expert but I've always heard that pines like an acid soil. When Mine start yellowing like that I mix an acid fertilizer and water it in, I don't think those stakes do any good. Its much better to get a water soluble fertilizer. Hope all goes well.
Acts

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Austrian Pine is lime-tolerant. I'd suspect it is delayed reaction to the summer drought - conifer foliage often continues to look good for some time after it is actually dead.

Resin

Waco, TX(Zone 8a)

Thank you for the replies. Would adding iron help? Do you think we can save it?

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

I'd doubt it. Looks to me like it is already dead.

Resin

Fort Wayne, IN

No...Its not dead yet..give it some time to come out of its shock from summer.
Acts

Holland, OH(Zone 5b)

Is it possibly Sphaeropsis? A close up of the tips on the upper protion of the tree would help.

http://www.ces.purdue.edu/extmedia/BP/BP_24_W.pdf

La Grange, TX(Zone 8b)

cedarstudio